Level 3: The Kennel – Part 2

by Enongo Lumumba-Kasongo

Today I came back to play the Kennel Level. I have died several times by walking towards the sound of the note (which is very close to the sound of the snuffle hog) only to get eaten. This time I walk slowly toward the musical note, stopping just shy of both the note and the snuffle hogs snarling. They both appear to be in the center of my head, so I’m confused about where to go. I move a little bit to the left and the snarling gets slightly louder. As I move to the right, the musical note gets slightly louder and I determine that it is right in front of me. I can still hear the hog close to me as I walk forward and collect the note.  “Now find the exit (exit sound appears).”  I hear the exit sound behind me so I slowly turn to face the exit sound and walk towards it until I run into the “light.” “Well done. It is difficult to see with your ears. You’re learning quickly. To the next chamber. The bed of bones. A snuffle hogs chamber scattered with squeaky toys and crunchy finger bones. Step on them and the hog will hear you and chase where it last heard you.”

As I noted in an earlier post, the obvious challenges of playing a game in which sound is the main feedback mechanism is not lost on the developers of the dialogue. While scholars in sound studies have tried to move away from comparisons between the visual and the aural, (Sterne, 2003) I actually find this analogy of seeing with my ears quite useful for thinking about the way I’m learning to listen.

Sources

Sterne, J. (2003). The Audible Past. Durham & London: Duke University Press.

