Level 25: Elysium

by Enongo Lumumba-Kasongo

I do not want to spoil the game for anybody who reads this blog and may want to play it, so I will suffice it to say that this was one of the most exciting games I have played in a long time. I have always been awe-struck by two aspects of game-play: the graphics and the music. For a game that featured little of either of these two elements, I was pleasantly surprised by my level of investment even after playing just a few times. I realize how my own biases regarding  the importance of graphics in gameplay shaped my understanding of how the experience of playing an audio game was going to be, prior to my playing Papa Sangre. Perhaps the hardest part of getting audio games to become as financially successful as video games will not be designing the games themselves but getting gamers who are biased about the perceived deficiencies of a video game with no video to pick up these types of games!

